You are here: Home > Australia
All posts from ACT Legislative Assembly Election October 15th 2016 : Electoral Commission Australia

Organisation : Australian Electoral Commission (
Facility : ACT Legislative Assembly Election
Country : Australia

Want to comment on this post?
Go to bottom of this page.

Notification :
Home Page :

ACT Legislative Assembly Election :

ACT Legislative Assembly elections follow a timetable, as outlined in the following table showing the expected timetable for the election due to be held in 2016

Related : Australian Electoral Commission Enroll Online :

Timetable for 2016 election :
Last day to lodge applications for party register 30 June 2016
Party registration closes 8 September 2016
Pre-election period commences and nominations open 9 September 2016
Rolls close 8pm 16 September 2016
Nominations close 12 noon, 21 September 2016
Nominations declared and ballot paper order determined 22 September 2016
Pre-poll voting commences 27 September 2016
Polling day 15 October 2016
Last day for receipt of postal votes 21 October 2016
Scrutiny 15 October 2016 until as soon as practicable after the last day for the receipt of postal votes
Poll declared As soon as practicable after the conclusion of the scrutiny
Legislative Assembly formed Within 7 days of the declaration of the poll

Last day to lodge applications for party register :
An application for party registration, or any application to change the name or abbreviation of an already registered party, may be made at any time. However, to take effect at an election, an application must be made before 1 July in an election year.

Party registration closes :
The Commissioner is required to close the register 36 days before polling day. No action can be taken on any application or appeal against a decision on an application during the pre-election period.

Pre-election period commences and nominations open :
Nominations open 36 days before the election. You can stand for election to the ACT Legislative Assembly
if you are:
** an Australian citizen, and
** 18 years old, and
** qualified to be an elector in the ACT (that is, you have lived in the ACT for at least one month).

** A person who wants to be a candidate for election to the ACT Legislative Assembly must first make certain they are qualified and then be nominated.
** They may be nominated by twenty electors who are entitled to vote in the electorate for which they wish to stand or by a registered political party.
** A deposit of $250 must accompany each candidate’s nomination.

Rolls close :
The electoral roll closes 29 days before the election. All ACT residents who are Australian citizens and are 18 or over are reminded to enrol. If your name is not on the roll by the time it closes you will not be able to vote at the election.

Nominations close :
Nominations close 24 days before an election. This gives time for the ballot papers to be printed correctly before polling commences. Any candidate who is not nominated by this time cannot stand in the election.

Nominations declared and ballot paper order determined :
Nominations are declared 24 hours after they close. The order of names on the ballot papers are then determined by lot.

Pre-poll voting commences :
Voting starts 19 days before the election for those people who cannot get to a polling booth on polling day. These people may be sick or overseas or going away on holidays or have to work on polling day. If the day that voting is due to commence is a public holiday in the ACT, then voting commences on the next business day.

Polling day :
Polling day is the day that polling places open all over the ACT for people to be able to cast their vote. Polling places are open from 8 am to 6 pm.

Last day for receipt of postal votes :
Postal votes are accepted for another six days after polling day, provided that they were posted before polling day.

Scrutiny :
As soon as the poll closes, counting of the votes begins. This is called the scrutiny. Votes are initially counted in each polling place. Votes are entered into a computer system which checks formality and distributes preferences.

Legislative Assembly formed :
All 25 members of the Legislative Assembly meet and vote for a Speaker for the Assembly. Then the members vote for the Chief Minister.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2021

Contact Us   Privacy Policy   SiteMap