You are here: Home > Uganda
All posts from

Electoral Commission Uganda : Provisional Presidential Election Results

Organisation : The Electoral Commission Uganda
Facility : Provisional Presidential Election Results
Country : Uganda

Want to comment on this post?
Go to bottom of this page.

Result :
Home Page :

Provisional Presidential Election Results :

Polling Stations Received 10,246 36.580%

Polling Stations Being Transmitted 17,764 63.420%
Total Polling Stations 28,010

Candidates | Party | Votes | % :
Abed Bwanika PDP 35487 1.00%
Amama Mbabazi Independent 60694 1.72%
Baryamureeba Venansius Independent 23380 0.66%
Benon Buta Biraaro FPU 11176 0.32%
Kizza Besigye Kifefe FDC 1182025 33.46%
Mabirizi Joseph Independent 10266 0.29%
Maureen Faith Kyalya Waluube Independent 18444 0.52%
Yoweri Kaguta Museveni NRM 2191283 62.03%
Valid Votes 3532755
Invalid Votes 185043 4.98%
Total Votes 3717798 24% of Total Voters
spoilt votes 10708

Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Polling Process :
** As you are aware, today, 18th February 2016, has been a polling day for Presidential and Parliamentary Elections.
** Polling started on time, in various parts of the country, and polling stations have reported a smooth start.
** There was a delay in delivery of polling materials in some parts of Wakiso District and Kampala Capital City.
** The Electoral Commission regretted the delay and extended an apology to the voters in the affected stations.
** However, polling materials were later delivered to all these places and polling commenced in most of the places.
** The Electoral Commission calls on candidates, their agents and supporters, to keep calm and tolerant as always during the polling period.
** Extension of polling time for Kampala and Wakiso Districts
** The Commission has, in exercise of its powers under Sec. 50 of the Electoral Commission Act. Cap 140 extended the closure of the voting time from 4:00pm to 7:00pm for all the all polling stations in Kampala and Wakiso Districts.
** The Commission further assured all voters who had presented themselves to vote, that they would be able to do so, until the last voter, as long as they are in the line by 7:00pm.

Postponement of Voting in some Constituencies :
The Commission has also suspended voting in the following constituencies;
** Bufumbira East County MP Kisoro District;
** Woman MP Buyende District;
** Woman MP Yumbe District;
** Busiki County MP Namutumba District;
** Dokolo South MP Dokolo District;
** Mawogola Constituency South MP Sembabule District;
** Woman MP Kween District;
** Kitagwenda County MP Kamwenge District;
** Kibale County MP Kamwenge District; and,
** Woman MP Kyegegwa District

** The polling date will be communicated in due course and the respective candidates, voters, supporters and the general public are hereby requested to remain calm.
** Similary, the Commission has suspended polling in 14 polling stations in Kampala (Makindye Division) and 22 polling stations in Wakiso (Kyebando) as per the attached lists.
** Polling in these stations will commence tomorrow Friday 19th February 2016 starting from 7am to 4pm.
** Voters in these stations are urged to turn up in big numbers tomorrow and exercise their right to vote.
** The Commission would like to congratulate all the areas where voting has been conducted and would like to guide that as counting of votes starts, presiding officers and candidates’ agents should ensure that as long as the intention of a voter is known on the ballot, that vote is valid and should be counted

Add a Comment
  1. Meanwhile, at St. Joseph’s Community Garden polling centre in Kulambiro, voting material arrived at 8am, says

  2. May I have a summary of the parliamentary results?

    1. Provisional Presidential Election Results are available in the above post.

  3. Depending on the votes you have received per now,what percent now are you remaining with?

  4. I would like you to tell mi why the votes appear more than the voters?

  5. I just want to know the percentage of votes for each candidate per now.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2021

Contact Us   Privacy Policy   SiteMap