You are here: Home > Hong Kong
All posts from

EAC Hong Kong Legislative Council By-election February 28th 2016 : Electoral Affairs Commission

Organization : Electoral Affairs Commission
Facility : Legislative Council By-election
Location : Hong Kong
Country : China

Want to comment on this post?
Go to bottom of this page.

Notification :
Website :

EAC Legislative Council by-election

To be held on February 28, 2016
** The Registration and Electoral Office (REO) will hold a by-election for the Legislative Council New Territories East geographical constituency on February 28, 2016 (Sunday).

Related : Legislative Council General Election 4th September 2016 EAC Hong Kong :

** The nomination period for the by-election will run from January 5 to 18 next year.
** “Should there be more than one validly nominated candidate in the by-election, a poll will be held on February 28, 2016, to fill the vacant office of a member of the Legislative Council,” a spokesman for the REO said today (October 23).
** “A nominee must be a registered geographical constituency elector aged 21 or above.
** The nominee must also have ordinarily resided in Hong Kong for the three years immediately before his or her nomination, and be a Chinese citizen who is a Hong Kong permanent resident with no right of abode in a foreign country,” the spokesman said.
** A nomination form must be subscribed by not less than 100 registered electors of the New Territories East geographical constituency and the number of subscribers on the nomination form must not exceed 200.
** Each elector is allowed to subscribe only one nomination.
** Details on the eligibility and disqualification for nomination as a candidate are set out in sections 37 and 39 respectively of the Legislative Council Ordinance.
** The nominee must personally hand in the completed nomination form and an election deposit of $50,000 to the Returning Officer within the nomination period.
** Nominations are accepted from 9am to 5pm, Mondays to Fridays, and from 9am to noon on Saturdays.
** The District Officer (Sha Tin) has been appointed as the Returning Officer for the by-election.
** Her office is located at 4/F, Sha Tin Government Offices, 1 Sheung Wo Che Road, Sha Tin, New Territories.
** “Nominees are encouraged to pay the election deposit by cashier order or cash to avoid unwarranted complications arising from a cheque not being honoured,” the spokesman said.
** Nomination forms are available at the Returning Officer’s office or the REO at 10/F, Harbour Centre, 25 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong.
** They can also be downloaded from the REO website (
** “Nominees are advised to submit their nominations as early as possible to allow time to correct mistakes, if any, in the nomination forms before the deadline,” the spokesman said.
** Details of the by-election, the appointment of the Returning Officer and the Assistant Returning Officers, and the appointment of the Nominations Advisory Committee were published in the Gazette today.
** For enquiries, please call the election hotline on 2891 1001.

Polling Date

For Legislative Council New Territories East by-election
** The names of the seven validly nominated candidates for the Legislative Council New Territories East geographical constituency by-election were gazetted today (January 29).
** Their candidate list numbers to be shown on the ballot papers, which were determined by drawing lots, were also gazetted.
** “Polling will take place on February 28. A total of 146 ordinary polling stations at the New Territories East geographical constituency and 22 dedicated polling stations in the territory will be open on the polling day for about 940,000 electors listed on the 2015 Final Register to cast their votes,” a spokesman for the Registration and Electoral Office said.
** The polling hours for the ordinary polling stations and the dedicated polling station set up at Tin Sum Police Station will be from 7.30am to 10.30pm.
** For the 21 dedicated polling stations set up in penal institutions, for security reasons, the polling hours will be from 9am to 4pm.

Nominated Candidates

The validly nominated candidates are as follows:
No. 1 Lau Chi-shing
Occupation: Director
Political affiliation:–
Nominated on January 13

No. 2 Wong Sing-chi
Occupation: Registered Social Worker
Political affiliation: Third Side
Nominated on January 11

No. 3 Chow Ho-ding Holden
Occupation: Solicitor
Political affiliation: DAB
Nominated on January 5

No. 4 Leung Sze-ho Albert
Occupation: Barrister-at-Law
Political affiliation: Independent candidate
Nominated on January 16

No.5 Fong Kwok-shan Christine
Occupation: Elected Councillor/ Engineer
Political affiliation: Non-affiliated Independent Candidate
Nominated on January 7

No.6 Leung Tin-kei Edward
Occupation: Student
Political affiliation: Hong Kong Indigenous
Nominated on January 15

No.7 Yeung Alvin Ngok-kiu
Occupation: Barrister-at-law
Political affiliation: The Civic Party
Nominated on January 5

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2021

Contact Us   Privacy Policy   SiteMap